Tax Calculator

Paycheck Tax Calculator

All states
2025-26Rank #6

District of Columbia College Cost 2025-26

$8,636 in-state.

By Sammy S. · Founder · AuthorUpdated for 2025-26

$8,636
In-state
$34,544
4-year sticker
N/A
Out-of-state
#6
National rank

District of Columbia college cost breakdown

In-state tuition

$8,636

Out-of-state

N/A

2-year in-district

N/A

Estimated COA

$22,536

District of Columbia's $8,636/yr in-state tuition ranks #6 nationally (lowest = #1) and is below the $11,950 US average. Estimated COA adds room & board ($13,900/yr US avg).

Four-year sticker cost in District of Columbia

Tuition & fees only. Add room & board for full COA. Net price after aid is typically lower.

In-state tuition (1 year)

Rank #6 nationally

$8,636

4-year sticker (tuition only)

No room/board

$34,544

Estimated COA (1 year)

Tuition + US avg room/board ($13,900)

$22,536

District of Columbia vs neighboring states

Geographic neighbors. Click for side-by-side comparison.

Compare District of Columbia with another state

Side-by-side in-state, out-of-state, community college, and 529 benefits.

Compare any two states

Public college tuition, out-of-state premiums, and 529 benefits.

Key takeaways — District of Columbia college costs

  • District of Columbia public 4-year in-state tuition averages $8,636/yr—rank #6 (lowest = #1). Out-of-state data not reported (DC has only one public 4-year institution).
  • Four-year sticker (tuition only): $34,544 in-state. Add room & board: estimated COA $22,536/yr × 4 ≈ $90,144.
  • Public 2-year data not available (Alaska and DC report N/A in College Board tables).
  • District of Columbia is $3,314 below the US average in-state tuition ($11,950).
  • District of Columbia offers a 529 income tax deduction (up to $4,000 single / $8,000 MFJ).
  • Net price after aid is typically lower than sticker. Use college net price calculators for personalized estimates.

District of Columbia college costs: in-state, out-of-state, and community college

District of Columbia public 4-year institutions charge an average of $8,636 per year for in-state residents (tuition & fees). That ranks #6 among 50 states and DC (lowest = #1). Out-of-state data not reported (DC has only one public 4-year institution).

Community college in District of Columbia: Public 2-year data not available (Alaska and DC report N/A in College Board tables). Many students start at community college and transfer after 2 years, cutting total 4-year costs significantly.

Room & board is not included in tuition. College Board estimates US average room & board at $13,900/yr. Add to tuition for estimated COA: District of Columbia ≈ $22,536/yr in-state.

Four-year sticker cost in District of Columbia

Four years of in-state tuition totals about $34,544 (tuition & fees only, no room/board). With room & board, estimated COA over 4 years: $90,144.

These are sticker prices. Net price after federal Pell Grants, institutional aid, state grants, and scholarships is typically much lower. Use college net price calculators for personalized estimates based on your income and academic profile.

District of Columbia 529 plan tax benefits

District of Columbia offers a 529 income tax deduction (up to $4,000 single / $8,000 MFJ). Use our /529-calculator to estimate tax savings, project account growth at different return rates, and compare superfunding (5-year lump sum) vs annual contributions.

529 plans offer federal tax-free growth and tax-free withdrawals for qualified education expenses: tuition, fees, room, board, books, computers, and K-12 tuition (up to $10,000/yr). Some states also allow 529-to-Roth IRA rollovers (SECURE 2.0 Act).

Link your 529 savings goal to District of Columbia tuition costs. If you're saving for a child born today, project tuition inflation (≈5%/yr) to estimate future costs 18 years out.

District of Columbia financial aid and scholarship programs

District of Columbia may offer state grants, merit scholarships, or promise programs that reduce net cost below sticker price. Check the District of Columbia higher education agency or state financial aid office for program details, eligibility criteria, and application deadlines. State aid is typically limited to District of Columbia residents attending in-state public institutions.

Who this District of Columbia guide helps

  • Families comparing District of Columbia tuition with neighboring states for college choice.
  • High school students in District of Columbia evaluating in-state vs out-of-state affordability.
  • 529 savers setting contribution targets based on District of Columbia public college costs.
  • Relocation researchers weighing college affordability across state lines.

When to use other tools

  • You need net price after aid (use college net price calculators, not sticker price).
  • You're comparing private college costs in District of Columbia (this page covers public only).
  • You need current tuition at a specific campus (flagship and regional costs vary).
  • You're filing residency appeals (consult institution-specific domicile policies).

District of Columbia college cost checklist

  • Note District of Columbia in-state tuition: $8,636/yr (rank #6).
  • Add room & board ($13,900/yr US avg) for estimated COA.
  • Check District of Columbia 529 plan tax benefits using /529-calculator.
  • Explore state financial aid programs (grants, merit scholarships, promise programs).
  • Use college net price calculators for personalized aid estimates.

District of Columbia college cost FAQs

District of Columbia averages $8,636 per year for public 4-year in-state tuition & fees—rank #6 nationally (lowest = #1).

District of Columbia does not report out-of-state data in College Board tables. (DC has only one public 4-year institution with special enrollment.)

District of Columbia does not report public 2-year in-district data in College Board Table CP-5.

Four years of in-state tuition totals about $34,544 (tuition & fees only). Add room & board for full COA estimate: $22,536/yr × 4 ≈ $90,144.

Many states offer 529 plan tax deductions or credits. DC residents should check /529-calculator for District of Columbia-specific deduction limits, credit amounts, and tax savings examples.

District of Columbia may offer state grants, scholarships, or promise programs. Check the District of Columbia higher education agency or state financial aid office for eligibility.

District of Columbia ranks #6 for in-state tuition (lowest = #1). Compare with neighbors and states with similar 529 benefits using our compare tool.

Academic year 2025-26 from College Board Trends in College Pricing 2025. Page updated 2026-08-02. Verify current rates with institutions.

Most District of Columbia public institutions require 12 months of physical presence, a District of Columbia driver's license or state ID, vehicle registration, voter registration, and intent to remain. Rules vary by campus. Contact the admissions or registrar office for specific requirements.

Yes. Most District of Columbia state grants and scholarships stack with federal Pell Grants, institutional aid, and outside scholarships. Check your financial aid award letter for the full package.

529 calculator

Estimate District of Columbia (DC) 529 plan tax savings and project college savings growth.

Calculate 529 savings →